• Tue. Nov 29th, 2022

SR-22 Insurance: What Is It and How Much Does It Cost?

ByElla E. Kidwell

Sep 22, 2022

Our goal is to give you the tools and confidence you need to improve your finances. Although we receive compensation from our partner lenders, which we will always identify, all opinions are our own. By refinancing your mortgage, the total finance charges may be higher over the life of the loan.
Credible Operations, Inc. NMLS # 1681276, is referred to herein as “Credible”.

If you have a history of traffic or driving violations, your state may require what is commonly called SR-22 insurance. In reality, an SR-22 is not insurance at all – it is a form from your insurance company proving that you have a policy that will cover your financial liability if you are involved in an accident.

Here’s what you need to know about SR-22 insurance:

What is SR-22 Insurance?

An SR-22 is not a type of insurance – it is a form of proof that you have sufficient auto insurance. It is also known as a certificate of financial responsibility. Your insurance company provides the SR-22 insurance form to your state government to verify that you have legally mandated insurance in your state.

Most states require drivers to have bodily injury liability coverage between $25,000 and $50,000 for a single person and between $50,000 and $100,000 for multiple people injured in an accident.

Additionally, most states require property damage liability coverage between $10,000 and $25,000. Your SR-22 form will verify that your insurance policy meets the legal requirements of your state.

Is SR-22 insurance required by law?

SR-22 insurance may be required by a court or your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles to prove that you have sufficient auto insurance coverage to be financially responsible in the event of an accident.

Many states also require you to file an SR-22 to reinstate your license after it has been suspended or revoked, or after certain vehicle violations, including:

  • Driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI)
  • Dangerous driving
  • Driving without insurance
  • Several offenses in a short period of time

You should generally keep the SR-22 on file for at least one to three years, depending on your condition.

Check: How much will my insurance increase after a speeding ticket?

What is an FR-44?

The FR-44 is another proof of financial responsibility, but with more stringent requirements. When you file an SR-22, you typically prove that you have the level of auto insurance coverage mandated by state law. With FR-44, you must maintain significantly higher coverage limits, often double the legal minimums.

For instance: In Virginia, drivers are generally required to carry at least $30,000 bodily injury liability insurance for a single person and $60,000 for two or more people. Additionally, Virginia drivers must have at least $20,000 in property damage liability insurance. If you are required to file FR-44, your coverage limits will need to be at least twice the state minimums.

Only two states currently use FR-44 forms: Florida and Virginia.

You may need to file an FR-44 if you are convicted of more serious crimes involving your motor vehicle, such as injuring someone while driving under the influence.

How does SR-22 insurance work?

If your state uses the SR-22 form, state law will specify when it is required – usually after specific driving violations. If you are found guilty of any of these violations, the court will often order you to file an SR-22, or the state Department of Motor Vehicles will inform you that you must file one to maintain or restore your license. To drive.

To file an SR-22 form, contact your insurer and tell them you need to file an SR-22, and the insurer will provide it to the state.

Good to know: If your insurer does not provide coverage for people with SR-22, you will need to purchase a policy from a new carrier that does. Your insurance provider will often charge you an additional fee to file the SR-22. You may also face a higher rate, as an SR-22 is an indication that you are a higher risk driver.

When you have an SR-22, your insurance company will notify the state immediately if your coverage expires or if you do not renew your policy. You will typically need to maintain the SR-22 for between one and three years, although some states require longer. If you have additional violations while you have an SR-22 order, your time may also be extended.

Compare car insurance from the best carriers
  • Completely online: buy auto insurance instantly
  • Compare quotes from highly rated car insurance companies in your area
  • No spam, phone calls, upsells or fake quotes

Get insurance quotes now

Where is SR-22 insurance required?

Most states have some type of SR-22 requirement, although they are not universal. Some states may require you to provide another type of proof of insurance after moving, such as a photocopy of your insurance card.

Check the table below to see if your state has SR-22 requirements:

SR-22 Requirements by State
Has SR-22 requirements Does not have SR-22 requirements
Alabama Connecticut
Alaska Delaware
Arizona Kentucky
Arkansas Louisiana
California Massachusetts
Colorado Michigan
District of Colombia Minnesota
Florida New Jersey
Georgia New Mexico
Hawaii New York
Idaho North Carolina
Illinois Oklahoma
Indiana Pennsylvania
Iowa West Virginia
Kansas
Maine
Maryland
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
North Dakota
Ohio
Oregon
Rhode Island
Caroline from the south
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virginia
Washington
Wisconsin
Wyoming

What is SR-22 non-owners insurance and is it required?

SR-22 non-owner insurance is for people who do not own a vehicle but must maintain an SR-22 with their state.

In most cases, your SR-22 will verify that you have the required insurance coverage on the car you own. If you don’t own a car, you can get a non-owner auto insurance policy that includes an SR-22. This will cover you for any vehicles you drive, like a friend’s car.

If your driver’s license has been suspended, your state will likely require you to purchase a non-proprietary auto insurance policy with an SR-22 certificate to have it reinstated.

For other scenarios, check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles to see what is required.

Learn more: Can I insure a car that is not in my name?

How much does SR-22 insurance cost?

The cost of SR-22 insurance can vary widely, but is generally more expensive than a standard auto insurance policy for drivers with a clean criminal record.

Insurers generally price their policies based on the perceived risk you pose. This takes into account your driving history (traffic violations and accidents), as well as your credit score, age, and where you live. If you are required to file an SR-22, you likely have violations in your driving history that will significantly increase the cost of your insurance.

The average auto insurance premium nationwide is $1,204 per year, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. You can expect to pay a lot more than that if you have an SR-22.

You may encounter other fees and charges when dealing with SR-22 insurance. For example, your state may require you to pay a fee to file Form SR-22. Insurance companies also tend to charge a small fee — usually between $25 and $50 — to file the form with your state.

You will usually pay the SR-22 filing fee up front when you purchase the policy. For some insurers, this is a one-time fee, while others may charge you at the start of each new policy term for as long as the SR-22 is required.

Who has cheap SR-22 insurance?

It’s always a good idea to shop around for auto insurance, but it’s even more important if you need to file an SR-22. An insurance company may offer significantly lower premium rates than its competitors.

Ask for quotes from several insurance companies and compare the prices and coverage offered to you. It’s the best way to make sure you’re getting a good deal.

Point: Speak to an insurance agent to make sure the quoted rates include the SR-22. Not all insurers cover drivers who need an SR-22.

Keep reading: How to get car insurance without a license

Compare car insurance from the best providers
  • Fully digital experience — Complete all your insurance forms online, without a phone call!
  • Top rated carriers — Choose from a mix of highly reputable national and regional auto insurance companies.
  • Data Privacy — We do not sell your information to third parties and you will not receive any unwanted phone calls from us.

Get insurance quotes now

Disclaimer: All insurance related services are provided by Young Alfred.

About the Author

Andrew Dunn

Andrew Dunn is an award-winning mortgage and finance writer with a decade of industry experience with articles published on Fox Business, LendingTree, Credit Karma, Axios Charlotte, and more.

Read more