• Wed. Nov 16th, 2022

UK drivers will need an international driving license to drive in the EU in the event of a no-deal Brexit

If there is a no-deal Brexit, the motorist will need to apply for an International Driving Permit (IDP). Displaced people are already required to travel to some countries outside the EU and EEA.

The UK currently issues three types of IDPs to UK licensees residing in the UK: 1926 IDP, 1949 IDP and 1968 IDP.

If you are traveling to Ireland, Malta, Spain or Cyprus, you will need to acquire the 1949 permit which is valid for 12 months.

The 1968 license will be required to drive to all other EU states. Unlike the 1949 permit, this would be valid for three years.

These licenses can be purchased at the Post Office in addition to the driving license. They’ll set you back £ 5.50 per license, meaning it could cost you £ 11 for the 1949 and 1968 versions.

There are now approximately 2,500 post offices across the country from which you can purchase these permits.

RAC spokesperson Nicholas Lyes said: “It is important that those planning to drive abroad from March 28, 2019 verify that they have the correct documents.

“In some countries, holders of a British driving license previously required a 1926 or 1949 IDP, but after that date this version will be replaced by the 1968 IDP.

“Anyone with an existing IDP for the country they want to drive in, who travels and returns before March 28, 2019 is not affected.

“Documentation for travel to EU states once the UK has officially left depends on negotiations between the UK government and the EU. In the event of a no-deal Brexit, the RAC has issued advice to drivers on which EU states would need which version of the IDP.

“La Poste will become the sole issuer of international driving licenses which can only be obtained at the counter in 2,500 branches. Motorists should check which post offices will issue IDPs before going to a branch.

“It is also important to remember that different displaced persons are valid for different durations and that displaced persons supplement the UK driving license abroad rather than replacing it.”

A guide to the validity of the international driving license by year of agreement and by country

1926 IDP – 3 countries

Valid for 1 year from purchase Somalia, Mexico, Liechtenstein

1949 IDP – 73 countries / states

Valid for 1 year from purchase Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Australia, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Brunei, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Republic of Congo, Costa Rica , Curaçao, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Fiji, Ghana, Guatemala, Haiti, Holy See (Vatican City), Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, People’s Democratic Republic Lao, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Macao, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Republic of Korea (South), Rwanda, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, United States of America, Venezuela, Zambia

1968 IDP – 103 countries

Valid for 3 years from purchase Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Aruba, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Belarus, Bhutan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic , Ivory Coast, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, French Polynesia, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mauritania, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Niger, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal , Serbia, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Su eden, Sudan, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Tan zania, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zimbabwe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.